# ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL

Town House, ABERDEEN, 13 June 2012

# MINUTE OF SPECIAL MEETING OF ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL

## Sederunt:

### Lord Provost George Adam, <u>Chairperson;</u> Depute Provost John Reynolds; and

## COUNCILLORS

YVONNE ALLAN MARIE BOULTON DAVID CAMERON SCOTT CARLE NEIL COONEY JOHN CORALL BARNEY CROCKETT STEVEN DELANEY **GRAHAM DICKSON** ALAN DONNELLY LESLEY DUNBAR ANDREW FINLAYSON FRASER FORSYTH **GORDON GRAHAM** ROSS GRANT MARTIN GREIG LEONARD IRONSIDE CBE MURIEL JAFFREY

JAMES KIDDIE JENNIFER LAING **GRAEME LAWRENCE** NEIL MacGREGOR CALLUM McCAIG M TAUQEER MALIK AILEEN MALONE ANDREW MAY RAMSAY MILNE JEAN MORRISON MBE NATHAN MORRISON JAMES NOBLE **GILLIAN SAMARAI** ANGELA TAYLOR ROSS THOMSON **GORDON TOWNSON** WILLIAM YOUNG and IAN YUILL

Lord Provost George Adam, in the Chair

The agenda and reports associated with this minute can be found at:http://committees.aberdeencity.gov.uk/ieListDocuments.aspx?Cld=122&Mld=2622&Ver=4

# REVIEW OF SCHEME FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMUNITY COUNCILS - CG/11/136

**1.** With reference to Article 1 of the minute of its meeting of 4 April 2012, the Council had before it a report by the Director of Corporate Governance which outlined the comments that had been received following the second period of public consultation on the amended Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils, and requested that the Scheme be adopted with effect from 1 October 2012.

### The report recommended:-

that the Council -

- (a) approve the extension to the boundary change between Cove and Altens Community Council and Nigg Community Council (as detailed in section 5.2 of the report);
- (b) determine whether the area of Stoneywood should transfer into the Bucksburn and Newhills Community Council area (as detailed in section 5.3 of the report and Appendices 2 and 3);
- (c) note that additional wording to clearly define the boundary between Old Aberdeen and Froghall, Powis and Sunnybank Community Councils had been incorporated into the Scheme at Appendix 1;
- (d) approve the extension to the polling time from 8.00am to 8.00pm to allow for greater involvement by the public to participate in the democratic process;
- (e) adopt the Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils and associated documents as appended to the report; and
- (f) if adopted, authorise the issue of a Public Notice advising that the Council has adopted the Scheme.

Councillor Crockett moved, seconded by Councillor Boulton:-

That the Council -

- (1) approve recommendations (a), (c), (d) and (f) as set out in the report;
- (2) in respect of recommendation (b), agree that the area of Stoneywood should transfer into the Bucksburn and Newhills Community Council area; and
- (3) amend recommendation (e) to read that the Council adopt the Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils and associated documents as appended to the report, with the exception of section 5.5 (iii) which should be revised to read "Community Councils within Aberdeen City shall be elected on the first past the post method of election".

Councillor McCaig moved as an amendment, seconded by Councillor Kiddie:-

That the Council approve the recommendations contained within the report, agreeing that the area of Stoneywood should remain in the area of Dyce and Stoneywood Community Council, and that the method of election should remain as the Single Transferable Vote.

## **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

At this juncture, Councillors Delaney and Finlayson declared interests by virtue of their respective positions of Chairperson of Mastrick and

Sheddocksley Community Council and Chairperson of Cove and Altens Community Council prior to their election, both having been involved in the consultation process. Both Councillors considered that the nature of their interests required them to leave the meeting and took no part in the Council's deliberations.

The Senior Democratic Services Manager advised that in terms of Section 53 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, as amended, a decision of a local authority to review its Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils, shall be by resolution passed by not less than two-thirds of the members voting thereon at a local authority meeting specially convened for the purpose with notice of the object. He explained that 36 members were eligible to vote, therefore a minimum of 24 votes would be required for any changes to take effect.

On a division, there voted:-

<u>For the motion</u> (22) - Lord Provost; Depute Provost; and Councillors Allan, Boulton, Carle, Cooney, Crockett, Donnelly, Lesley Dunbar, Forsyth, Graham, Grant, Len Ironside CBE, Laing, Lawrence, Malik, Milne, Jean Morrison MBE, Nathan Morrison, Taylor, Thomson and Young.

<u>For the amendment</u> (14) - Councillors Cameron, Corall, Dickson, Greig, Jaffrey, Kiddie, MacGregor, McCaig, Malone, May, Noble, Samarai, Townson and Yuill.

Absent from the division (2) - Councillors Delaney and Finlayson.

### The Council resolved:-

to adopt the motion, noting, however, that it had not secured the minimum number of votes required for the changes proposed in parts (2) and (3) to take effect.

## - GEORGE ADAM, Lord Provost.